I am an Assistant Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where I lead the Secure & Transparent Systems Laboratory. My research confronts a broad array of issues in computer security including operating systems, cloud computing, and network communications, as well as both mobile and embedded devices. My recent work has evaluated the safety of mobile applications, introduced mechanisms that defend against USB-based attacks, and designed security-enhanced provenance-aware systems that are capable of reliably tracking and explaining system intrusions.

I received my Ph.D. from the University of Florida, where I was advised by Professor Kevin Butler and a founding graduate student of the Florida Institute for Cybersecurity. My dissertation work was in the area of data provenance, particularly the construction of secure provenance-aware systems. I obtained my M.Sc in Computer Science at the University of Oregon, and bachelors degrees in Computer Science and English Literature from the University of Maryland.

Note: We are building a world-class security research group at the University of Illinois. If you are a motivated student with an interest in security, I would be interested in speaking with you. Please see the STS Lab's recruitment page for more information.

Recent News

16 August, 2018
We’re excited that our work on fitness tracking privacy is beginning to receive some media attention, which will help us get the word out to athletes using these services about this potential risk. The Illinois College of Engineering’s Marketing and Commmunications office published an article this week about our studyStrava and MapMyTracks have also written up blog posts about the issue and how they’ve worked to mitigate it. There’s likely more to come here; I’ll add an additional news post when there is more to share.

30 July, 2018
I recently sat down with Mike Koon and the Illinois Innovators Podcast to discuss the STS Lab’s work on tracing system intrusions using data provenance. Part of the discussion centers around the research goals of my recently-funded NSF Career award. You can listen to the conversation here.

24 July, 2018
In 2018, the Secure & Transparent Systems Lab will have presented work at all 4 major security conferences (NDSS'18, Oakland'18, Security'18, CCS'18).

More news

© 2018 Adam Bates. All rights reserved.